Meet the Orientation Captains: Kalila

Have you met Kalila McCoy?!

If you haven’t, we interviewed her for you. Keep reading to get to know her!

20140624_172901

Where are you from?

I’m from Livonia, Michigan.

What year will you be this fall?

My 4th year.

What’s your major?

I’m studying Japanese!

Why did you apply to work for International AOP?

I understand that flying from home to come to a new place can be a scary process, and I want to make sure that every student feels comfortable and understand that MSU is a safe, wonderful place to be. Also I want to make friends with all the new students!🙂

 What are you most looking forward to as a captain during orientation?

Watching friends blossom being incoming and returning students.

What do you remember feeling as a new freshmen at MSU?

I was so excited, but also very anxious because it was my first time away from home.

What is the most important advice you would like to share with incoming international students?

Get involved! Go to events! Talk to random people! Making friends and joining organizations is the best way to make your experience at MSU worthwhile. Sitting in your dorm room is boring and you didn’t fly so far just to stay in your room right? Going to events gives you the opportunity to meet new people, and with so many organizations on campus, you should take advantage of it!

What does MSU mean to you?

To me, MSU is a home away from home where I can freely express myself and learn from my peers. It’s a community of people there to support you and lift you up.

What is your favorite quote about being a leader?

“If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more and become more, you are a leader.” – John Quincy Adams

 “Whatever you want to do, if you want to be great at it, you have to love it and be able to make sacrifices for it” – Maya Angelou

Leave a Reply

