Meet the Orientation Captains: Nicola

This week we’re pleased to introduce to you Nicola Chidyaonga!

Get to know Nicola in our interview with her.

Nicola

Where are you from?

I am from Malawi.

What year will you be this fall?

I’ll be going into my 3rd year (Junior).

What’s your major?

I’m majoring in Interior Design.

Why did you apply to work for International AOP?

I was interested in helping make this transition for the international students as easy going as possible, because I myself am an international student and I have gone through the motions of adjusting to a new culture. I also thought this would be a fun and great learning experience for me.

What are you most looking forward to as a captain during orientation?

I’m looking forward to growing as an individual as well as being some kind of role-model to the incoming international students.

What do you remember feeling as a new freshmen at MSU?

I remember feeling homesick, lonely, and overwhelmed all at the same time. But over time these feeling went away as I begun adjusting and getting involved in the community.

What is the most important advice you would like to share with incoming international students?

My advice to the incoming international students is that they shouldn’t be scared to break out of their comfort zone. Your undergrad experience should be more than just academics. Explore the resources, try something new, learn about a different culture, overcome your fears and just make the best of your undergrad experience…you’d be surprised how quickly time flies!

What does MSU mean to you?

Michigan State University is a community that has pushed me to grow in so many different aspects of my life; from the wide range of activities that have challenged me to break out of my comfort zone, to the number of different people who taught me to be more open minded. Overtime I have also learnt the true essence of what it means to be a Spartan; which to me, is to be someone who gives back to their community, someone who is compassionate, confident, and hard working. This is the sort of person that I strive to be.

What is your favorite quote about being a leader?

“If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more and become more, you are a leader.” – John Quincy Adams

Leave a Reply

