We’re excited to introduce Barbara Kotei to you this week!

Meet Barbara in our interview with her below.

Barbara Kotei
The photo above captures Barbara’s first and last time ice-skating. Her knees became so familiar with the ice that she has yet to go again.

Where are you from?

I am an international student from Tema, a city in Ghana. Ghana is a country located in West Africa and was somewhat popular for its outstanding performance in football (soccer) up until this year. 😦

What year will you be this fall?

I will be a third year junior this fall.

What’s your major?

This has been redefined over my two years of being at MSU but I am currently majoring in Economics with a Pre-Med focus.

Why did you apply to work for International AOP?

As a current AOP staff who has been through AOP as an incoming international student, I wanted to be a part of the group that made incoming students feel welcome as they begin their journey in a place so foreign to them.

What are you most looking forward to as a captain during orientation?

As a captain, I am eager to interact with both the incoming students and my fellow AOP staff across orientation groups.

What do you remember feeling as a new freshman at MSU?

I felt very nervous about being in a new place and homesick from not having my family around. I was also overwhelmed by the size of the campus but believe me, when people tell you the campus seems to shrink the longer you’re here, it is no lie.

What is the most important advice you would like to share with incoming international students?

Don’t be scared to make new friends, especially with other freshmen. Everyone is confused when they get here and if you don’t know something, there’s a high probability that someone else doesn’t know it either. So don’t hesitate to ask for help, we’ve all been in your shoes; we know how it feels.

What does MSU mean to you?

MSU has been an important stepping stone in my life. From changing my major to learning a new sport (football- the American kind, I mean), I have been able to find myself and appreciate the differences around me.

What is your favorite quote about being a leader?

“If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more and become more, you are a leader.” – John Quincy Adams