Meet the Orientation Captains: Matt

This week we would like to introduce you to Matt Petry!

Check out our interview with him below.

Above is a photo of Matt Petry showing off his Spartan spirit at the 2014 Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California after MSU won.


Where are you from?

I moved around throughout my childhood. I was born in Landstuhl, Germany and moved to Ohio, Illinois, California and Virginia. My parents currently live in Virginia.

What year will you be this fall?
I will be a senior this fall, but I still have two years left at Michigan State.

What’s your major?
I am an Applied Engineering Sciences and International Relations major.

Why did you apply to work for International AOP?
I applied to work for International AOP because I wanted to meet new people, welcome students to the MSU campus and share my Spartan spirit with incoming freshmen. I hope to make the new students feel prepared and comfortable in their new home.

What are you most looking forward to as a captain during orientation?
As a captain, I am most looking forward to getting the opportunity to interact with students in multiple orientation groups. I am really excited to share my experience with all of the wonderful incoming Spartans.

What do you remember feeling as a new freshmen at MSU?
I remember feeling excited and nervous before my first year at MSU. I was ready to figure out how to live on my own and embrace all of the learning opportunities MSU has to offer.

What is the most important advice you would like to share with incoming international students?
The most important advice I would like to share with incoming international students is to embrace all of the opportunities that MSU has to offer. Use your time on campus to figure out who you are and what you want to do. Join a club, attend sporting events, attend guest lectures, hang out with other students, travel, do whatever it is that you want to do!

What does MSU mean to you?
MSU means a place that I can call home for the rest of my life. No matter where I go and what I am doing I always know that there are fellow Spartans with me. MSU provides me with a network of people that can help provide you with a little slice of home no matter where in the world you are (even if its just the customary Go Green!)

What is your favorite quote about being a leader?
My favorite quote about being a leader is “A leader is best when people barely know he exists, not so good when people obey and acclaim him. But of a good leader who talks little when his work is done, his aim fulfilled, they will say: we did it ourselves.” Lao-Tzu (500BC)
This is my favorite quote about being a leader because it emphasizes the humility needed in order to actual be a great leader. Truly great leaders need no recognition to validate their actions

Leave a Reply

