Explaining April Fools’ Day (Beware of Pranks)

April Fools’ Day is celebrated in different countries around the world on April 1 every year. Sometimes referred to as All Fools’ Day, April 1 is not a national holiday, but is widely recognized and celebrated as a day when many people play all kinds of jokes and foolishness. The day is marked by the commission of good-humored or otherwise funny jokes, hoaxes, and other practical jokes of varying sophistication on friends, family members, teachers, neighbors, work associates, etc.

In the United States, like in many other countries, people are victims of April Fools’ pranks. I remember last year when I went to see my Faculty Adviser, I thought it was a day like any other day. However, my faculty played a prank on me. He told me that I was doing really badly in class and that I was failing my most recent paper. It made me really anxious and I was getting really upset because I knew that I put a lot of effort in that class. At the end of the day, my faculty adviser approached me in class and announced me that it was an April Fools’ joke. It may have been funny to him but it wasn’t funny at all to me.

This is a lesson that no matter what joke was played on you; you should not take it the wrong way. April Fools’ Day is a day where joke and pranks are done. They may be very impactful on some people but not necessarily impactful on others.

Happy April’s Fool Day!!

Mark Chung Kwan Fan is a first-year international graduate student from the island of Mauritius. He is currently pursuing a master’s degree in Student Affairs and Administration at MSU’s College of Education. His interests vary from Latin American culture to student affairs in the context of international education. Mark also serves as Orientation Intern at the Office for International Students and Scholars (OISS).

 

 

Leave a Reply

